Tiny house movement…..sign me up!

Bayside Bungalowphoto from Bayside Bungalo blog.

In my last post, “Burning desire to start anew”, I talked about my recent urge to start over, make something new of my life.  Well it seems I found what I’ve been looking for, now to figure out the logistics and make it happen.

I’ve been watching the “tiny house movement” for years and it has always intrigued me.  But in my circumstances it was never a feasible option.  Now that I am single again, no debt (just my car loan), and looking for a simpler and more enjoyable life…….I think it’s what I’m meant to do.

I am absolutely in LOVE with this tiny house and I could TOTALLY live in a house like this.  It’s beautiful, don’t you think?  I am amazed at their creativity on storage solutions.  And to be honest with you, it has more storage space than my 1200 sq ft apartment.  That’s pretty sad.  LOL  The full size kitchen is amazing, without sacrificing.  However, being a vegetarian who doesn’t cook much, I could probably get away with a more efficient size oven but this shows that you don’t have to.  I would never imagine that you could have a full size refrigerator in the kitchen of a tiny house, and that would be perfect for all of my produce.

The concept of living simple with less crap is so appealing to me.  I found myself sitting there on my couch last night looking around my place at all the stuff I really don’t “need”.  I love my place, it’s beautiful and cozy.  But as I’m sitting there I realized all the things I really could do without.  My big comfy furniture, the big screen tv and entertainment stand, chunky coffee table and end table, the over-sized dining room set that gets used maybe two or three times a year on holidays, the buffet table, the hutch, an organ that I don’t know how to play but it was my great uncles, a 6′ tall bookcase full of books and picture frames, the modern decor and artwork all around…..and this was all just in my living room and dining room.

As I moved into my kitchen, I see how much crap are in my drawers and cabinets.  I have drawers full of gadgets that I never use, do I really need five mixing spoons and three spatulas?  I’m pretty sure I could get away with keeping only one of the two can openers I have.  And I could probably get rid of the four different cheese slicers altogether, since I don’t tend to serve cheese and crackers on the rare occasions that I entertain.  And the cabinets full of pots and pans when I only use one or two.

I could go on and on here through each room of my house, but I think you get the point.  We tend to hold onto things, things we keep in case we might need it but never actually use.  Or at least I see that I obviously do.  My place is very neat, organized and clutter free anyway because I’m sort of an OCD neat freak.  Trust me, it’s a constant source of teasing from my boyfriend.  LOL  So until I really looked around and paid attention to what I have, I never realized how much I hold on to.

So here is my plan of attack, to make this dream of living a simpler life a reality.

Downsize:
I will start going through every nook and cranny of my house and get rid of items that don’t have a purpose.  Sell it, give it away, recycle or trash anything that isn’t a necessity.  If it’s not something I use frequently, I probably don’t need it.  Now I just need to determine the criteria of frequently.  Would it be something I use weekly or monthly?  I don’t know, haven’t figured that out yet.

Research:
This is the part that will consume the most time.  I am one who needs to make sense of everything and do it in an orderly fashion.  I will extensively research different models of tiny houses and determine what I need in my tiny home.  I do know that I want to build it on a flatbed trailer so I can move every couple of years if I chose, and that will help get around some building codes I think.  And I also know that I want to build it “off grid” along with the option to hook up to standard utilities if needed.  But being off grid is huge for me.

Then I will create a list of materials, supplies and prices to create a budget.  I will play around with different floor plans and probably draw plans up a million times.  I’ll spend countless hours reading books and watching YouTube videos on building and codes.  I will network with other tiny homeowners and gather information on do’s and don’ts that they have learned from their experience.  I will need to find a build site and then I need to figure out where I will put my tiny home to live.

Basically, I want a good solid plan to make this as simple and stress free as possible.  Of course I know unexpected issues will come up but if I do my research I can avoid as much as possible.

Budget/Save:
This will be the hard part.  Living on a single income, paying rent, utilities, car loan and insurance, etc.  I will have to get on a mission of saving some serious cash.  I know I can do it if I put my mind to it.

“…You can do it put your back into it.  I can do it put your ass into it…I’m gon’ do it, gon’ do it.  Gon’ do it, do it, do it…”

Sorry I got a little sidetracked when Ice Cube popped in my head.  But seriously, it will be worth it if I can discipline my budget and cash flow this project.

And I want to look into the possibility of getting sponsors to help with materials and knowledge.  I saw on another tiny homeowners blog that this is possible, who’d a thunk?

Build, baby build:
Once all these previous steps are completed, I can get to the fun stuff!  Fortunately, I do have some building experience and I am very crafty.  I was always my fathers little tomboy and he taught me a lot.  I really enjoy building shit, I really do.  Nothing scares me, except electrical.  But, I have several friends who’s hubbies are contractors so I’m hoping I can work something out where they will help me on those days for some good pizza and beer.  LOL  Or for a nominal fee.  But I’ll be doing most of the labor all by myself, other than recruiting some help with heavy lifting and task where you need more than two hands.

I am obsessed with the concept of living rent free and building my own home and owning it, even if it is tiny.  I am even more obsessed with the concept of living off grid and not spending hundreds each month on utilities and being self sustained.  It blows my mind to think of how much I could be putting into savings each month if I wasn’t paying rent and utilities.

Now that I’ve made this entry far longer than I planned, I guess I will end with how super stoked I am about this project and how I really want to do everything I can to make it happen.  And I will ignore those who will be against this venture and just soak in the positive people and do what I want to do for ME.

If you have read to this point, thank you so much!  And if you have any input on this subject I would appreciate any of it.  Please share the good, the bad, and the ugly……I need to know it all.

Peace!

I can’t stop searching tiny houses, so here are a couple of my favorite sites so far.  Enjoy.

Tiny House Build  (This is my absolute favorite)

Bayside Bungalow:  A tiny house for nighty rental

The Tiny Tack House:  Tiny…..It’s kind of a big deal

The Tiny Life:  Tiny houses, Tiny living

Leave a Reply

