Homemade natural deodorant/antiperspirant.

Yesterday I was browsing a vegan group that I’m on and came across a post that someone shared about a recipe for natural and chemical free deodorant/antiperspirant. I thought to myself “damn I can make that and would much rather use something natural and chemical free”. Then I looked at the recipe again and realized I had everything to make it.

I couldn’t wait to get home and whip a batch up. So as soon as I got home, that’s exactly what I did. It was so quick and easy.

20140502-181737.jpg

I kept peaking at it to see if it solidified yet, it was like watching paint dry.

20140502-181902.jpg

I put it on this morning then kind of forgot about it throughout the day. Well I just got home from working all day and realized……IT WORKS!!! This stuff is amazing, I had ZERO perspiration all day. I wasn’t actually expecting it to work but it did.

So I want to share the recipe, try it out and let me know what you think.

1/4 cup refined coconut oil
1/4 cup corn starch
1/4 cup baking soda
20 drops essential oil (optional for scent)

Slowly warm the coconut oil on the stove top. Once it’s melted, add in the mixture of corn starch and baking soda. Mix well until it’s creamy. Add in the essential oil and mix well. It WILL solidify so don’t add extra corn starch thinking it’s too creamy. It is thin and creamy when you first pour it but below is a picture of it the next day to show that it does become a solid form.

20140502-183135.jpg

This recipe made enough to fill a 4 oz. mason jar perfectly. Next time I’ll probably pour it into an empty deodorant container for easier application. But scoop out a pea sized amount and rub it under each armpit.

And there you have it. All natural, chemical free deodorant/antiperspirant. It’s healthy, quick and easy to make, for a fraction of the cost of store bought.

Leave a Reply

