Vegetarian, Vegan, Raw Vegan, oh my!

Hello, my name is Cheli and I’m a vegan.  Yes, I’m one of “those” people.  LOL

It’s funny how I get different reactions from people who find out I’m a vegan.  Some act as though I’m bizarre and wonder how on earth I could survive without eating meat.  And others are very interested about it and don’t treat me as though I have the plague.  I’m not sure why some people find vegetarianism so odd but to each their own.

I am NOT one of those animal activist type who preach that everyone should stop eating meat and I would never try to convert someone to the dark side.  However, if someone decides to talk down to me about my choice to not eat meat then I will certainly point out their bad choice of eating meat.  I am more than capable of having a calm and adult discussion about why I don’t eat meat if somebody is interested, but the tone of the conversation completely depends on the other person.  I don’t judge what you eat so please don’t judge what I eat.  But I digress.

So I wanted to post about the differences between being a vegetarian, a vegan and a raw vegan.  Some people get confused by this and are very interested in understanding the difference so I hope this helps.  I may later do another post and go into some of my experiences and the pros and cons of them but for now I’m going to keep to the topic at hand.

A vegetarian is a person who does not eat meat, fish, fowl, or, in some cases, any food derived from animals, as eggs or cheese, but subsists on vegetables, fruits, nuts, grain, etc.  And to make things more confusing, there are two types of vegetarians:  A lacto-ovo-vegetarian is a vegetarian who includes dairy and eggs in their diet and a lacto-vegetarian includes dairy but NOT eggs.

A vegan is a vegetarian who omits all animal products from their diet.  So of course this means no meat, fish, fowl, dairy or eggs.  How I like to say it is, if it has eyes or came from something with eyes, I don’t eat it.  LOL

And last, but certainly not least (as this is my favorite), a raw vegan is a vegan who does not cook their food.  The theory behind being a raw vegan is that if you cook your fruits/veggies above 118 °F then the vitamins and nutrients are destroyed.  The raw vegan diet consist basically of raw fruits, veggies, nuts, seeds and grain.  But don’t let that fool you into thinking that they eat a boring and bland diet, quite the contrary.  The diet can be as simple as mono meals (meaning one particular fruit or vegetable in a sitting) to gourmet raw meals that would tickle even the fussiest of taste buds.  It also consist of a lot of juicing and smoothies.

I will be sharing much more on being a raw vegan in the future as this is what I am.  If you have any questions on any of this or would simply like a vegan buddy, feel free to hit me up.

 

4 thoughts on “Vegetarian, Vegan, Raw Vegan, oh my!

  1. I have been living a 90% plant-based diet and it is perfect for me – at this point in my life. I have tons of vegan recipes on my blog and I look forward to learning a bit more about being raw.

    • The benefits of raw just amaze me, and you don’t even need to be 100% raw to see the benefits. A lot of raw vegans consider raw if at least 75% of your vegan diet is raw. I’ll definitely be posting more on this subject and look forward to checking out your blog. Thank you. 🙂

  2. It’s nice to find another vegan out there, so hey! And thanks for mentioning that raw vegans don’t just chow down on grass from the backyard all day, like most people assume 😉 How’s your raw vegan life going so far?

    • Hey back at ya! 🙂 It is nice to find other vegans out there. I’m not 100% raw, probably about 90%. I follow a high carb/low fat vegan diet that I’ll be doing a post about soon, but it includes cooked dinners like mashed potatoes and vegan gravy or rice and steamed veggies etc. In the last eight years I have been either vegetarian, vegan or raw vegan, but I always come back to high raw vegan because it’s just where I feel my best. Thanks for your response and nice to meet ya.

Leave a Reply

